One Penny Hurdle

I wanted to start mining and I got everything setup to mine with a windows 10 machine but I have a balance of 0 so I cant afford the transaction fee to get started. It appears I cant send NKN from coinbase or any of my wallets to this new nkn wallet. How do I get past this one penny hurdle?

Yor need to swap them from ERC-20 to Mainnet NKN (I think)

Wow, after all the fees and things I would need to pay to make all the moves to accommodate this would end up being a very expensive way to get a very small amount of NKN in my wallet to get started… All the hype I read about getting started easily seems inaccurate.

I must’ve done something wrong and now I’m out $200 in addition to the fees I guess.

I agree its a pain. I ended up moving 101 NKN from Coinbase myself a couple days ago. Ill explain how I went through it if you decide to as well.

First I would like to say that I’m a beginner to working with crypto assets. I first made the mistake of moving ETH from my Coinbase to my MetaMask wallet only to discover the conversion fee for ~$60 worth of ETH -> ERC20 NKN was ~$40. Absurd! I then figured that I can add the NKN coin to my MetaMask wallet, not thinking I could before because It did not come on the search for adding a coin.

The guide for adding a new token I linked below was the step I needed for my wallet.
I used the site https://www.coingecko.com/en/coins/nkn and where they list the contract address an add to MetaMask button is to the right of the normal copy to clipboard button. I clicked that, for other wallets you can probably figure the steps needed fairly easily if they support adding different Ethereum coins.

You do pay to transfer the NKN and ETH to a wallet, but unlike me, some may already have a wallet with ETH, and the fee is way less than $40+. I believe the ERC20->Mainnet swap has no fee on NKN though, only ETH for gas.

1. First purchase ERC20 NKN from Coinbase (0x type address).